Noble raw materials

The recycling of non-ferrous metals protects important resources.

Metal recycling has a long tradition at Lobbe. Metals are prepared for further processing at many of the group's locations. In Braunsbedra, Lobbe operates a dry processing plant for non-ferrous metals. Customers come from all over Europe. They mainly supply non-ferrous metals from bottom ash and boiler ash for processing. In the plant, the metals are first separated from the mineral components, followed by the separation of the individual metal types.

Mario Waldheim, Managing Director of Lobbe Metallrecycling GmbH, and authorised signatory Jörg Langer summarise the process briefly as "screening and separating". Behind this, of course, are complex processes and modern plants that identify the heavy and light metals. At the end of the processing, there are high-quality metal fractions of aluminium, zinc, brass and copper. The secondary raw materials are not only equivalent in quality to the primary raw materials, they also make an important contribution to the environment and climate. Compared to ore mining, the use of recycled metal conserves natural resources. In Germany alone, the recycling of non-ferrous metals reduces CO2 emissions by around eight million tonnes every year.

The history of metal recycling goes back a long way. As early as antiquity, the valuable raw materials were collected, melted down and reprocessed. One of the most famous examples is probably the "Colossus of Rhodes" - a huge bronze statue that is considered one of the seven ancient wonders of the world. The 30-metre-high statue is said to have been recycled after its collapse. Then as now, the main issue is scarce raw materials and resources. In the industrialised nations of Europe, a lot of metal is processed according to demand. This applies to ferrous as well as non-ferrous metals.

In Germany alone, around 2.5 million tonnes of non-ferrous metals were produced in 2018, which, apart from iron, includes all metals and alloys with an iron content of less than 50 percent. Whether in the automotive industry, electrical engineering or the construction sector - the areas of application for these materials could hardly be more diverse. As a rule, the primary materials, i.e. ores and concentrates, are imported. This makes recycling and the use of secondary raw materials all the more important. In 2018, more than half of the raw materials for the production of non-ferrous metals in Germany were recycled metal. They are a good example of closed cycles. Because aluminium, copper and co can basically be recycled any number of times.

This is not the only reason why the importance of metal recycling will not diminish in the future. New technologies will continue to drive the recycling of precious raw materials. To this end, the Lobbe Group is continuously investing in modern and efficient solutions. A new plant for processing non-ferrous metals is currently being built at the Braunsbedra site. It significantly expands the operational portfolio of the site in Saxony-Anhalt and is a good example of a successful investment in sustainability.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING

Phone numbers

SERVICE NUMBER

+49 2371 4340

PIPE CLEANING & DRAINAGE SERVICE

+49 800 00 562 23

OIL FIRE BRIGADE, OIL ALARMS & EMERGENCIES

+49 1805 600 500

Edle Rohstoffe

Das Recycling von Nichteisenmetallen schützt wichtige Ressourcen.

Das Metallrecycling hat bei Lobbe Tradition. An vielen Standorten der Gruppe werden Metalle für die Weiterverarbeitung vorbereitet. In Braunsbedra betreibt Lobbe eine Trockenaufbereitung von Nichteisen (NE)-Metallen. Die Kunden kommen aus ganz Europa. Diese liefern überwiegend NE-Metalle aus Rost- und Kesselaschen zur Aufbereitung. In der Anlage werden die Metalle erst von den mineralischen Komponenten getrennt, anschließend folgt die Trennung der einzelnen Metallsorten.

Mario Waldheim, Geschäftsführer der Lobbe Metallrecycling GmbH, und Prokurist Jörg Langer fassen das Verfahren kurz mit „Sieben und Separieren“ zusammen. Dahinter stecken natürlich komplexe Verfahren und moderne Anlagen, die die Schwer- und Leichtmetalle identifizieren. Am Ende der Aufbereitung stehen hochwertige Metallfraktionen aus Aluminium, Zink, Messing und Kupfer. Die Sekundärrohstoffe sind in ihrer Qualität nicht nur gleichwertig zu den Primärrohstoffen, sie leisten einen wichtigen Beitrag für Umwelt und Klima. Im Vergleich zum Erzabbau schont der Einsatz von recyceltem Metall natürliche Ressourcen. Allein in Deutschland werden durch das Verwerten von NE-Metallen jedes Jahr rund acht Millionen Tonnen CO2 weniger ausgestoßen.

Die Geschichte des Metallrecyclings geht weit zurück. Bereits in der Antike wurden die wertvollen Rohstoffe gesammelt, eingeschmolzen und wieder verarbeitet. Eines der berühmtesten Beispiele ist wohl der „Koloss von Rhodos“ – eine riesige Bronzestatue, die als eines der sieben antiken Weltwunder gilt. Die 30 Meter hohe Statue soll nach ihrem Einsturz wiederverwertet worden sein. Damals wie heute geht es dabei vor allem um knappe Rohstoffe und Ressourcen. In den Industrienationen Europas wird bedarfsgemäß viel Metall verarbeitet. Das gilt für Eisen- wie für Nichteisen-Metalle.

Allein in Deutschland wurden 2018 rund 2,5 Millionen Tonnen NE-Metalle produziert, worunter außer Eisen alle Metalle und Legierungen mit einem Eisenanteil unter 50 Prozent fallen. Ob Automobilindustrie, Elektrotechnik oder Bausektor – die Anwendungsbereiche für diese Werkstoffe könnten kaum vielschichtiger sein. In der Regel werden die Primärstoffe, also Erze und Konzentrate, importiert. Umso wichtiger ist das Recycling und der Einsatz von Sekundärrohstoffen. 2018 war mehr als die Hälfte der Rohstoffe für die Produktion von NE-Metallen in Deutschland recyceltes Metall. Sie sind ein gutes Beispiel für geschlossene Kreisläufe. Denn Aluminium, Kupfer und Co können im Grunde beliebig oft recycelt werden.

Nicht nur deshalb wird der Stellenwert des Metallrecyclings auch in Zukunft nicht an Bedeutung verlieren. Neue Techniken werden das Verwerten der edlen Rohstoffe weiter vorantreiben. Dazu investiert die Lobbe-Gruppe kontinuierlich in moderne und effiziente Lösungen. Am Standort Braunsbedra entsteht zurzeit eine neue Anlage für das Aufbereiten der NE-Metalle. Sie erweitert das operative Portfolio des Standortes in Sachsen-Anhalt erheblich und ist ein gutes Beispiel für eine gelungene Investition in Nachhaltigkeit.

Facebook
Twitter
LinkedIn
XING

Rufnummern

SERVICERUFNUMMER

+49 2371 4340

ROHRREINIGUNG & ABFLUSSSERVICE

+49 800 00 562 23

ÖLWEHR, ÖLALARM & HAVARIEN

+49 1805 600 500